A Painful Regret

A Painful Regret

10th grade

As I sat there in English class, I stared at the girl next to me. She was my so called
“best friend”. I stared at her long, silky hair, and wished she was mine. But she didn’t notice me like that, and I knew it.

After class, she walked up to me and asked me for the notes she had missed the day before and handed them to her. She said “thanks” and gave me a kiss on the cheek. I wanted to tell her, I want her to know that I don’t want to be just friends, I love her but I’m just too shy, and I don’t know why.

11th grade

The phone rang. On the other end, it was her. She was in tears, mumbling on and on about how her love had broke her heart. She asked me to come over because she didn’t want to be alone, so I did. As I sat next to her on the sofa, I stared at her soft eyes, wishing she was mine. After 2 hours, one Drew Barrymore movie, and three bags of chips, she decided to go to sleep.

She looked at me, said “thanks” and gave me a kiss on the cheek. I want to tell her, I want her to know that I don’t want to be just friends, I love her but I’m just too shy, and I don’t know why.

Senior year

The day before prom she walked to my locker. “My date is sick” she said; he’s not going to go well, I didn’t have a date, and in 7th grade, we made a promise that if neither of us had dates, we would go together just as “best friends”. So we did. Prom night, after everything was over, I was standing at her front door step! I stared at her as she smiled at me and stared at me with her crystal eyes. I want her to be mine, but she isn’t think of me like that, and I know it. Then she said “I had the best time, thanks!” and gave me a kiss on the cheek. I want to tell her, I want her to know that I don’t want to be just friends, I love her but I’m just too shy, and I don’t know why.

Graduation Day

A day passed, then a week, then a month. Before I could blink, it was graduation day. I watched as her perfect body floated like an angel up on stage to get her diploma. I wanted her to be mine, but she didn’t notice me like that, and I knew it. Before everyone went home, she came to me in her smock and hat, and cried as I hugged her. Then she lifted her head from my shoulder and said, “you’re my best friend, thanks” and gave me a kiss on the cheek. I want to tell her, I want her to know that I don’t want to be just friends, I love her but I’m just too shy, and I don’t know why.

A Few Years Later

Now I sit in the pews of the church. That girl is getting married now. I watched her say “I do” and drive off to her new life, married to another man. I wanted her to be mine, but she didn`t see me like that, and I knew it. But before she drove away, she came to me and said “you came!”. She said “thanks” and kissed me on the cheek. I want to tell her, I want her to know that I don’t want to be just friends, I love her but I’m just too shy, and I don’t know why.

Funeral

Years passed, I looked down at the coffin of a girl who used to be my “best friend”. At the service, they read a diary entry she had wrote in her high school years. This is what it read:

I stare at him wishing he was mine, but he doesn’t notice me like that, and I know it. I want to tell him, I want him to know that I don’t want to be just friends, I love him but I’m just too shy, and I don’t know why. I wish he would tell me he loved me!

I wish I did too… I thought to myself, and I cried.

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nhix
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 16:37:42

    base???..
    kakalungkot naman yung story.. sayang..

    Reply

  2. kikilabotz
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 04:59:59

    eh kasalanan ng babae yun db? nagpakasal sya eh. aheheheeh. joke. what a very sad story of love

    Reply

  3. Lust
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 11:58:24

    tama..kasalanan nung boy..hinayaan niya ang takot mangibabaw…tsk.

    Reply

  4. eloiski
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 17:34:34

    takte naman tong entry mo te. gawa mo ba ;to? ang solido sa kalungkutan. hakhak!

    Reply

  5. miss.dr4g0nfLy
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 04:36:09

    kaya minsan humahanga talaga ako sa mga taong malalakas ang loob pagdating sa pagpaparamdam ng pagmamahal sa taong mahal niya…

    napadaan ulit 😉

    Reply

  6. ???
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 10:15:27

    aw. grabe nadala ako ng kuwento hmn.. naku?.. ikaw gumawa ng kuwento?.. (or is it real?) …

    nung una naguguluhan ako.. kase akala ko.. ikaw ang nagk kuwento.. 😐

    Reply

  7. Mark
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 14:08:56

    it’s my first time visit your blog at mukhang mapapadalas ang bisita ko dito. I love what you wrote. Sarap basahin. I’ll add to my links and please don’t forget to add me too. thanks!

    Reply

  8. coldred
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 02:30:24

    rox… Ahehhehe… i really like the story.. hahaiz… How i wish anana japun ya nafeel ..pero i think its not… so sad… 😦

    Reply

  9. duking
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 18:18:46

    lovely story.pero tulad ng web address ng author,lonely talaga.whaaaaa!!!

    people just love in their own way.may mga nagpapahayag nito sa ibat ibang paraan.some just let it silently show it without the actual words kasi,telling someone that you love them is so sacred and fragile that if you say it louder than a whisper,it breaks on the next passing wind.

    kung anu na lang masabi eh no?whahaha!!!

    Reply

  10. Dorm Boy
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 05:29:19

    Napaka sad ng story pero ganun talaga life is so unfair. Pero still life must go on. So tuloy pa rin ang buhay sa kabila ng lahat!

    Reply

  11. yiN
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 22:56:49

    ano yung basig diay? Lukanu ka ba rox?

    Reply

  12. unspokendeed22
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 02:22:09

    Hmn.. I only read your entries just now. Ganda ng lines mo… I can help but too read until the end of every story. Bisita na ako dito lage.. ehehhe.. shhhh!!!

    Reply

  13. unspokendeed22
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 02:24:32

    woi ganda nmn nito.. it reminds me of someone… aherm!! gnito din xa.. sa graduation kami last ngkita.. Just wished him not to be late like this tragic story…. someday.. Ang skit kaya ng mbigo. urghh!

    Reply

    • missbroken
      Apr 20, 2010 @ 02:44:44

      weheheh.. cel.. hmmmmmm… cnu kaya un… ahem.. graveh… nakakatulong na pala blog ko ngayun..
      akala ko buh.. meron ka na bago?.. hmmm kalimutan mo nalang ung luma…

      Reply

  14. unspokendeed22
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 02:26:35

    Bisita nrin ako dito lage.. lalo na pag antuk ako.. ehhe.. epektib ito pang.gising… ehehhe.. sakit mu nmn mg.story..:((

    Reply

  15. aubu22
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 07:13:24

    nakakalungkot naman ng kwento, sayang, kung sinabi lang nila sa isa’t isa edi sana happy ending na,

    Reply

  16. Len
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 15:31:35

    yeah, its time to let go!! 🙂

    and i hope it’ll be ok.. 🙂

    Reply

  17. gudang
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 12:12:17

    May mga bagay lang talagang sadyang magpapa-regret sa lahat ng buhay ng tao. TEKA HA, andrama 😀 Hahaha. 🙂 Anyway, may dahilan naman siguro kung bakit kailangan mangyari niyang story na yan. Para kapag satin, alam na nating mahirap magregret 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Tagapag-ulat

Kalendaryo

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Flickr Photos

Squirrel in the undergrowth D50_9462.jpg

More Photos
